Chakra System
Seven Chakras
Chakra Table
Chakra Link

Siddhis And Chakras

chakra meditation Taken in part from workshop transcript "Chakras and Siddhi Powers" From "Preparation for Enlightenment" workshop series conducted by Dharma Dharini Bhagavad Dasa:

Chakras are sometimes called "wheels of the mind" or "forests of desire". They are psychic centers that cannot really be described fully from a psychological or material view in the same way a cake cannot be considered to be flour, vanilla, sugar, eggs and chocoalte. There is a force that has been applied to the ingredients that makes it a cake. Chakras are energy centers that are interelated with the autonomous, parasympathetic and and sympathetic nervous systems.

Each individual perceives and understands life through the perspective of the chakra in which he feels most comfortable relating from. This is called the "Point of Awareness". In a sense the chakra colors the experience. It is like a filter on a camera. Contributing to "Maya" which in the older sense of the word was not illusion but rather a faulty or filtered perception of reality as presented by the senses. Knowledge is lacking for accurate perception or interpretation. When the point of awareness-the presiding state of consciousness and kundalini merge in the upper chakras, enlightenment experiences occur. Sometimes they are permanent, sometimes not. If the force of this merging is intense enough it will lead to a genetic restructuring of the brain such as what occurs with deep and profound insight.

Siddhi Powers are sometimes gained by focusing on various chakras causing an activation of that specific energy center. In the ancient tradition of enlightenment, siddhi were passed down from master to seeker through spiritual initiation. This can be compared to a seed which is then nurtured through various sadhanas such as yoga or chakra meditation.

Muladhara ("Foundation") First or Root Chakra - Siddhi attained is Frog Jump Siddhi - can rise in the air by various degrees resulting in memory of past lives, freedom from disease etc. The mind is conquered and whatever one thinks can happen.

Swadisthana ("Dwelling Place of the Self") Second Chakra - Siddhi attained at this stage is psychic powers, control of the senses etc resulting in creative abilty, reflective nature, perfection of relationships, deep inner peace and charisma.

Manipura ("City of Gems") Third Chakra - the giver of constant happiness. Has conquered not only disease but time as well. Can enter the body of another, make gold, see hidden treasures, cure diseases etc. Ego is destroyed and has the power to create and destroy.

Anahata ("Free from Constraints") Fourth or Heart Chakra - Awareness of ones karma, knowledge of past, present and future, clairvoyance ability, ability to walk in the air, ability to travel all over the world at the speed of thought etc. The effect of meditating on Anahata are considered to be esoteric. It is to be experienced for oneself. When the kundalini and point of awareness meet in anahata, the enlightenment experience of seeing God in everything (not a concept but the actual seeing)occurs.

Vishuddhi ("Pure") Fifth or Throat Chakra - Calmness, serenity, purity, command of speech and mantras, understanding of dreams etc. Masters entire self, becomes unconscious of outer world and enjoys inner realm. The mind ceases to be a problem. Supreme reasoning overcomes the heart. It is a state of non-judgement. This chakra relates to the "chit" or Cosmic Consciousness.

Ajna ("Authority" or "Austerity") Sixth or Brow Chakra - Siddhi attained is destruction of 'Karma' of past lives. Able to be in continuous state of samadhi (realized non-duality). Visions of past, present and future. All desires come true. All internal and external changes cease to be a problem.

Sahasrara ("Thousand Petalled") Seventh or Crown Chakra - The plane of happiness. No activity of the mind. No knower, no knowledge, nothing to be known. Knowledge, knower and known become one and liberated. Feelings, emotions and desires are dissolved into their cause. Union is achieved. Non-dual consciousness occurs. All siddhis are obtained. Yet he has transcended the desire to use those siddhis or manifest his desires.
There is no separation between the experience and the experiencer (I am that)

Following is a list of 23 siddhi powers:

Considered to be the Warrior Siddhi Powers:

Trikalajriatvam: knowledge of the past, present and future.
Advandvam: to be beyond pleasure-pain, cold-heat, soft- hard. Non-duality.
Parachittadyabhijnata: knowledge of dreams and the mind.
Pratishtambah: control of effect of fire, wind, water, poisons, weapons, and the sun.
Aparajayah: Victorious. Not able to be defeated.

The next are considered only to occur as the heart begins to purify and flower:

Anumimattvam: hunger, thirst, grief, sorrow, infatuation, delusion and confusion of the mind, old age and death do not harm the body.
Doorshravan: to hear, sitting at one place, speech from however distant a place.
Dudarshan: to see simultaneously events and things in all the realms.
Manojava: the body can travel at the speed of thought to any place.
Kaamaroopa: to assume any form. Shapeshifting.
Parakayapravesh: ability to enter into another's body, whether they are dead or alive.
Swachchandamrutyu: to die at one's own will, death having no control over one.
Sahakridanudarshanam: to see the sport of gods in heaven and have capacity and prowess to participate.
Yathaasamkalpa samsiddhi: to attain whatever is desired.
Ajnaapratihataagatih: whereby one's command and movement have no obstruction.

These are considered to be the highest siddhi powers:

Anima: the reduction of one's form to one atom. Invisibility.
Mahima/Garima: the body can be made to be very heavy.
Laghima: the body can be made to be extremely light.
Prapti: abilty to acquire objects of sense pertaining to the respective organs.
Prakaashya: to see invisible things in other realms.
Ishitaa: to stimulate bodies and creatures Control of forces of nature.
Vashita: to have control or dominion over the senses.
Yatkamastadavasyati: To obtain joy by willing it so. The cessation of misery and desire.
This is considered to be the highest state of bliss.